Nauticam Nikon D7000 Housing – Testimonial: Alan Powderham – a long time underwater photographer

I have just returned from my first my first trip with the Nauticam D7000. It was a revelation. The housing was a joy to use and I completely concur with the enthusiasm expressed in other reviews and testimonials regarding its outstanding ergonomics.

To place my own experience in context, I have been taking underwater photographs for over thirty years, commencing in the late 1970s with an Olympus OM1 and Vivitar strobes in Ikelite housings. It was all manual then with no TTL. However, I enjoyed some success winning a few competitions and had a book published “Venezuela Submarina” in 1983. Later, I graduated to a Nikon F4 in a Nexus F4 Professional housing with Nikonos 105 strobes. This was a beautifully balanced system and of
course complemented by the wonderful Nikon sports viewfinder. The results were so pleasing that I remained happily committed to film until this year.

So, not only was this my first outing with the Nauticam but also my very first venture into underwater digital photography. Such a change naturally carried high expectations, but the Nauticam proved the best friend that you could wish to take on such a learning curve. The location for this initiation was Lembeh straits in Sulawesi where I made some 36 dives in 12 days. I make relatively long dives and would usually have a day off in the middle of such a trip. Not this time – I was too excited! Right from the start, the results were impressive – a very small selection of which are included here.

I mention all this background to emphasise my delight in discovering how quickly the Nauticam established its truly excellent credentials. While I was confident with the investment, I did expect to miss, at least a little, the best aspects of my F4 based film rig. But not a jot – I was immediately charmed. The Nauticam did not just meet my expectations but wonderfully exceeded them.

To complement the beautiful balance of the housing, I used Inon Z240 strobes. The reliability of optical connections was another most welcome bonus. The synergy of the whole system felt just right from the first moment that I submerged – beautifully ergonomic and robust. Sure, with my early Ikelite system I had suffered the occasional leak – it was almost an inevitable rite of passage with such equipment. The Nexus housing never leaked but there were the usual issues with the electrical connections for the strobes. The Nauticam, with its simple and virtually fail-safe cam latches, takes robustness to a new level. It also has a very effective moisture alarm which increases
confidence even more but I never expected it to be triggered and it never was.

Nauticam and Underwater Visions are also to be commended for their excellent, attentive service which included making a special ‘one-off’ adaptor so that I could use the ports from my Nexus system.

So, huge thanks to Alex and Kat and the Nauticam team for all their support and such a superlative product.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

